Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for December 3rd, 2008

Maybe you have used the phrase “Well, if that floats their boats, thats okay.”   I know I have.  But should we?  In situations where right and wrong exist, I do not believe we should have that type of attitude.  Now, you may disagree with me but I am reminded of several scriptures that I will put at the end of this post. 

One concern I have is that we can fall so easily into the wrong hands of individuals who do not clearly know the scriptures.  We are told to beware of false prophets which come into this world.  We are to use the Bible to see if he/she is correct in their statements of faith. 

I have known of individuals who have followed a person instead of God.  They were so busy trying to please the pastor that Christ was left out.  He was great in getting individuals into following Him and yet in his own personal life he greatly sinned against God by getting involved with women who trusted him. 

Another case scenario is where a youth pastor was having oral sex with the girls and had them sworn to secrecy.  He was caught and was sent to prison.  Thankfully, he admitted what he had done which kept the teenagers from having to testify.  Now, I am acquainted with both situations and I can tell you that so many of these individuals who were hurt are no longer seeking God in their lives, they have been deceived and hurt.  When the Bible speaks about the truth shall set you free – it means just that – it must be the truth.  You can’t have truth and sin occupy the same space and believe it to be correct.  The Bible speaks that there are ways which seem right to men, but they are wrong.  Look around you. I would not be surprised if you wouldn’t find many people who are hurting and need a touch from you. 

Encourage one another in love.  Be kind and tender hearted toward each other.  Not just at the Holiday Season but all the time.  You never know how just a phone call or a smile can mean to someone who has been traumatized or one who does not know Jesus Christ as their Lord and Savior.  Yes, I believe that their is one way to heaven and that is in believing in Jesus Christ.  John 14:6 records Jesus speaking and He said:  “I am the way, I am the truth, no man cometh unto the Father but by me.”  So…maybe we need to think before we speak and say “Whatever floats your boat.”  Here are some scriptures that I mentioned:

Matthew 7     

Watch out for false prophets! They dress up like sheep, but inside they are wolves who have come to attack you.  You can tell what they are by what they do. No one picks grapes or figs from thornbushes.  A good tree produces good fruit, and a bad tree produces bad fruit.  A good tree cannot produce bad fruit, and a bad tree cannot produce good fruit.  Every tree that produces bad fruit will be chopped down and burned.  You can tell who the false prophets are by their deeds.  Not everyone who calls me their Lord will get into the kingdom of heaven. Only the ones who obey my Father in heaven will get in.  On the day of judgment many will call me their Lord. They will say, “We preached in your name, and in your name we forced out demons and worked many miracles.”  But I will tell them, “I will have nothing to do with you! Get out of my sight, you evil people!”

 

 John 14      

 Jesus said to his disciples, “Don’t be worried! Have faith in God and have faith in me.   There are many rooms in my Father’s house. I wouldn’t tell you this, unless it was true. I am going there to prepare a place for each of you.  After I have done this, I will come back and take you with me. Then we will be together.  You know the way to where I am going.”  Thomas said, “Lord, we don’t even know where you are going! How can we know the way?” “I am the way, the truth, and the life!” Jesus answered. “Without me, no one can go to the Father.

Read Full Post »